

Contact Information

Mark Maliskey | Marketing & Communications Manager MarkM@grandforks.org | O: 701.738.0238 | C: 810.543.0579

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 1/9/25

Grand Forks Region EDC Announces Updated Board for 2025

Mark Rustad joins the EDC board of directors. Board officer transitions: Shawn Gaddie is the Board Chair, Meghan Compton is the Board Vice Chair, and Chris Wolf is the Board Secretary and Treasurer.

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – The Grand Forks Region Economic Development Corporation announces several updates to its board of directors for 2025. Grand Forks County Commissioner Mark Rustad has assumed the responsibility of county representative on the board. Dave Engen previously served as the Grand Forks County representative and transitioned out of his county commission role after the November 2024 election. At the end of 2024, the board officer positions ended and changed leadership beginning in 2025. John Oncken who served as Board Chair in 2023 and 2024, transitioned to the Past Board Chair, Shawn Gaddie transitioned to the Board Chair, Meghan Compton transitioned to the Board Vice Chair, and Chris Wolf was elected as the Board Secretary and Treasurer.

"Welcome to our new board member, Mark Rustad, who is passionate about the success of local businesses and the growth of our regional economy," said Keith Lund, EDC President & CEO. "A tremendous thank you to Dave who has served on the board for almost ten years. The Grand Forks region would not be what it is today without his leadership. We are fortunate to have another committed and strong leader from the county fill his shoes."

Eight of the board of directors' members are elected by the EDC investors to serve three-year terms, with a maximum of three consecutive terms, and three are appointed. The group of eleven is the voting body, overseeing Grand Forks Region EDC operations, providing economic development strategy for the region, and making project funding recommendations to the city's Growth Fund and Jobs Development Authority. The board is led by the officer positions: chairperson, vice-chairperson, secretary-treasurer, and EDC president & CEO.

The EDC advisory board has seven new appointees: Melissa Beach of Minnkota Power Cooperative, Mike Bibow of AE2S, Tal Elseth of J.R. Simplot Company, Kristin Hanson of Edward Jones, Sandi Luck of North Dakota Coffee Roastery, Curtis Regan of Dakota Commercial, and Ross Rivard of Rivard's Turf & Forage. The new advisory board members began their first term on January 1st, 2025. The EDC advisory board members meet with the board of directors, providing input into the organization's strategies and local and state economic development initiatives.

A full list of the 2025 Grand Forks Region EDC board of directors and advisors is available on the EDC website: https://grandforks.org/inside-the-edc/board-of-directors/

###

About Grand Forks Region Economic Development Corporation

The Grand Forks Region EDC works collaboratively to foster an environment that attracts innovative people and business investment to Grand Forks County and the surrounding region, enhancing economic vitality for long-term prosperity and growth. GrandForks.org